Antisocial VS Asocial

“Oh silly human being I’ve never met, you don’t mean you’re actually anti-social, you mean you’re asocial!”

No, ass, I meant antisocial. I may not be as terrible with it as others, but it’s certainly there and has been diagnosed. It’s not like it takes a whole doctorate’s degree in psychology to know the difference, just one intro to psych class… Or google… Or going to an actual psychiatrist, discussing your issues, and finding out from an expert what’s really going on with you.

In my opinion, however, I’ve always thought of myself as a more aggressive asocial, but diagnoses are diagnoses. Of course, my original issue has always been bipolar, so honestly one day I may come across more anti-social than other days wherein I’m a bit milder and more asocial.

It really all comes down to how tired I am and when I decide to snap on people for little to no reason. I do try to contain myself, but I really have no barrier so words start coming out. I do have self-control, but then again I have little regard for others around me unless they’ve been hanging on for years and have proven their permanence. However these same few who are my friends either also have such blatant disregard to the general populace, or some other mental disorder that happens to pair off nicely with my own.

In other words: I don’t do well with schizoid, extreme and directly harmful antisocial (generally referred to as psychopathy), and passive aggressive ambivalence.

But I work well with OCD (the real, diagnosed OCD), other antisocial (on my level or under), spectrum disorders, and sometimes–but much more infrequently than the others–asocial.

Look, when it comes down to it, every mental disorder has an average or usual means of expected behaviors and reactions. However, each individual will still have different and unique experiences with whichever mental disorder they are diagnosed, and will have slightly different results each. There are general expectations of people with each mental disorder known, but at the same time each person has something different which gives us hope that the person can still be stronger than the disorder.

But please, unless you are a psychologist from whom I have sought professional help, DO NOT tell me what I do and don’t have after explaining to you what I already have. Jeebus. Please. De-stress your breasts.

4 thoughts on “Antisocial VS Asocial

  1. You’ve made me ask myself some valuable questions from myself, I’m an introvert normally and choose not to suffer conversations from people I put little value in or not on my wavelength of thought. When you were being diagnosed did they ask you to conduct your own social experiment? My psych is making me do an experiment in a group setting to find out my reaction.

    1. My original diagnos-er did not, but since I am child-psych student I was urged by my psych professors to do so. I have, and often. One of the primary uses of this blog is to help me spell out (literally) certain issues and situations in which I felt good about my reactions, and those in which I didn’t. I keep a journal, and share with my therapist and professors often as way of helping myself, sharing knowledge, and furthering my knowledge of psychology as well. Analyzing yourself, especially with guidance, is the best way to keep yourself on top of what’s going on. It’s not necessarily about controlling it, or getting over it, but learning how to live comfortable and healthily with it in a way that in turn does not majorly disrupt others’ lives as well. Basically, we just have to keep up with more shite than “regular” people do.

Leave a Reply

